This Is Not Learning

I wasn’t too keen on going back to school, but it seem necessary to get something more practical than a history degree.  Oh, yes, practical.  Which really just means getting a piece of paper which purports to mean you magically can do something now despite (or rather because of) the hours and hours of pointless crap you had to do to get it.

See, here I am, trying to do “case studies” for an idiotic business law class which is required for the associate degree I’m after.  The teacher gave permission to look up these cases online.  A good thing because the book doesn’t actually give you all the information that you need.  You know, like what the law says about discharging debts in bankruptcy which come from being sued for malpractice.  If it’s in this chapter, I don’t see it.

Better yet, one case asks you to give the plan of reorganization for United Airlines under Chapter 11 bankruptcy.  I found the actual plan.  It’s 124 pages long.  Hmm, yeah, I totally have time to read that and summarize it in a paragraph.

Like so many other “required” classes in today’s institutions of higher learning, the one thing you learn to do is BS.  Who need to learn anything?  BS your way through everything!  You don’t have to know anything; you don’t have to do able to do anything.

In another class, students regularly come in twenty minutes late, spend the class texting or whispering to each other, and leave early.  I heard one complaining about the “big words” in the stories he had to read for English Comp.  It’s been a long time since English Comp for me, but I  don’t remember anything being a) good or b) difficult.  I’d like to see someone assign William Morris and watch as their students shrivel up and die trying to read it.

I realized something was terrible wrong a few years ago when I started having college “educated” people stare at me blankly because I used words they didn’t understand.  Me with my average intellect.  Class after class, I have taken at current college and most of them warn menacingly at the beginning that they’re “intense” and require at lot of work and commitment.  I have easily procrastinated my way into A’s that I don’t deserve, often rarely bothering to even open the text book.  It’ll catch up to me eventually I bet, but if these classes were so “intense” it should have happened on day one.

All these people spend thousands of dollars getting an education from badly written books and teachers who rarely teach.  What do they actually get out of it?  I mean, I’m hoping to get a job, not particularly like in this economy, but in the meantime, it seems an awful lot like a waste of time…

Leave a Reply

